To the greatest “Ma” ever

To the greatest Grandmother

Happy Birthday to the greatest gran ever..

A photo taken on my 1st birthday .. Posted 18 years later on her birthday.. (And I know how much she hated having her picture taken)
6 years later and I still miss you every day.
I remember how I used to hate it when you would plait my hair but I knew it was for my own good.
I remember how we used to watch Charlie Chaplin movies together late at night.
I remember how you spoiled me rotten and let me drink ( well lap ) my tea out of a saucer when it was too hot for me to drink.
How you would laugh when my aunts would make me eat my veg.
How proud you were on Sundays when I was dressed like a little princess each Sunday for church.
How you would argue with Aunties when it was past my bedtime on a Sunday night, so we could watch Walker Texas Ranger together.
How I would lie behind your back each night after saying my nightly prayers.
How you would help me remember the words when I had forgotten or stumbled along the way.
I remember how you called my germs, Jams when I had the flu once.
I remember how we used to watch SABC 2 every weekday, regular as clockwork at 10am during the December holidays for the kiddies movies they played, even though we’d seen them a million times.
I remember how you used to shout at the TV when some character was being stupid.
I don’t remember it but I was told I even found your bottle of expensive Red Door perfume when I was little and smothered myself and your room in the scent.
I remember helping you when you needed it.
I remember you chuckling to yourself when Aunty Sheryl put my tiny self on the counter that looked like it was a million miles from the floor ( so I wouldn’t get off) to make me learn the months of the year.
I remember how proud you were of me and I can only hope that I follow along a path in this life, that would still make you proud of me, that would make you look down from above and smile.

I wish you were there for my matric dance, I wish you were there when I   needed guidance and prayers for my fears concerning my matric finals, I wish you had been there when I had finished my matric exams and passed. I wish you could’ve been there when I got my university acceptance letter. I wish you could be here now.

I will miss having you at my wedding one day. I will miss so many moments with you but I can only be grateful that I actually had a chance to have  and share some moments with you.

You were my guidance and counsel, you were like another mother to me. You were an integral part of my upbringing and one of the main reasons I am the way I am and I could never thank you enough for that.

I miss you ma, more than words could ever say,
and don’t worry ma.. I haven’t forgotten my promise to you.

I will look after my aunts, and I will do my utmost to make you proud of me.

Leave a Reply

