I’m going to drown myself

I’m going to drown myself in the sweet melodies of my music and pretend today never happened.

I’m going to close my colour blind eyes and open them again to see the world in technicolour.

I’m going to lose myself in the rhythm,beat, drum and bass.

I’m going to scream along to lyrics to feel anything but the disappointment I currently feel.

I’m going to pretend for one night, that I actually matter and that I’m the only one on this over populated planet of ours.

I’m going to deafen myself listening to dance,trance, metal, rap and even R&B and hip hop.

I’m going to do any and everything to drown out the feelings inside until all I feel is the music pulsing through my system, my heart rate and breathing in sync.

I’m going to deafen myself to the sounds of everyday life until all I can hear is the music within my soul.

Music also defines who I am and what I’m feeling
Better than words ever could

 

Music defines where I’m going.

Music defines where I’ve been.

Music defines what I’m feeling.

Music defines what I’m seeing.

Music defines me.

I don’t need a plant to get high,

Music is my drug and it’s one I’ll never stop taking.

2 thoughts on “I’m going to drown myself

  1. Amazing. I love this poem ! I also have a poetry blog, and I’ve had around fifty poems published over the years. I’m also a sportswriter in the U.S. on a prominent national website, fantasycpr.com. I would LOVE to write about music, though. I’m fifty years old, but I keep up with current, alternative music, while still enjoying the classics like Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones, and Neil Young. I also like Pearl Jam, Dave Matthews, Radiohead, The Strokes, Kings Of Leon, Cat Power, Tupac Shakur, and many others. Music has helped me heal during bad times and helped me to celebrate my joy. This poem is brilliant ! You are a very talented young lady. Please feel free to visit my site, digthroughlife. I think you’ll enjoy my work, too. You and I would get along well, I think. 🙂 Keep creating. I really think you are very impressive. I shall continue to follow your work . ……Jeff Littrell

    • Thank you so much Mr Litrell 🙂
      I’m glad that you have enjoyed it as much as you did and I am humbled by the fact that you have. I’ll definitely visit your site 🙂
      Thank you for “stopping” by 🙂

      Mish

Leave a Reply

