Reflections for the insignificantly significant

Some say, when reflecting upon the wonders of life they realise their insignificance in this universe.

For me?

I just need to look upon the masses at university to realise that simple fact.

I just need to gaze over cape town and the seemingly never ending dimming sparkle of lights over a city that slowly, begins to wake amidst the few that have been up since before the sun had touched the skyline with its magnificent presence ..

I just need to stare off into the distance looking past this never ending city, to the mountains; that create a sense of foreboding in winter, when the skies are murky and grey and that create a sense of vibrant vitality and strength when the sky is ablaze in the summer…

I just need to do these simple things…
To realize the extent of my insignificance,
not even in a world so large
but in a city too big to really care.
I just need to do these simple things…
To realize the extent of my insignificance
Not only in a city too big to really care
but in the rat race we are all caught up in called life.

However I’ve realised, while musing over my insignificance…
Ironically enough; we are all significantly insignificant
This in itself in a weird turn-about sort of way makes us significant.

To our friends
To our family
To our peers
To anyone our little interconnected lives may have touched in some way
Because let’s face it, we are all connected with one another.

So maybe I’m not as insignificant as I believe and maybe someday some friends will remember me.
But for now, I’m happier in the background.

It’s easier to hurt alone and share it with the world,
When I’m mostly anonymous amidst the millions of others
Than hurt and share it with “Friends”,
Where I can easily be preyed upon, in the worst possible way.

2 thoughts on “Reflections for the insignificantly significant

  1. EVERYONE is significant. Your words are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

