Shoot Me

Shoot me…
Skin me…
Stuff me…
I am but an animal with no voice.
Only sound,
My fear for my unprotected young,
My fear for my life.

Shoot me…
Skin me…
Stuff me…
Mount me on your walls hunter.
Let children stare in fascination and fear,
at my glassy eyes,
and bared fangs.
I had no voice to save me then…

Shoot me…
Skin me…
Stuff me….
Did you not see the terror in my eyes?
Did you not hear my cries of fear!?
No…
All you saw…

Was another precious dust gathering trophy,
All you heard…
Were my “vicious” cries…
You never saw anything,
but me…

On your wall…
Above your fireplace…
On your floor…
In your room..

That was all you saw hunter.
You never saw my defenceless young,
You never saw them die,
All you saw,
was another trophy…

That anticipation..
That thrill you felt as you chased me…
Came to an exhilarating halt..
That ensured you would pull the trigger.
To you Mr. Hunter,

I am just another trophy.

2 thoughts on “Shoot Me

  1. Bethany says:

    It breaks my heart when men have no respect for the lives of innocent animals and kill only for the pleasure of it.

  2. Ironically enough Bethany, This could also apply to women and children and their mistreatment as well…

Leave a Reply

