Why is it ..

Why is it , that you think because you are mighty that I will be weak? 

Why do you trivialize my importance in this large world, making me even more aware of my “insignificance”? 

Is it because I have no knowledge to rival your all encompassing one? 

Is it because I stand alone and you are a legion? 

Is it because I have no wealth or fame to speak of which makes me less of a person in your condemning eyes? 

Yes.. 

I suppose it must be so, you say you understand but you don’t. 

All you see are black marks on white paper, leaving no space for colour inbetween. 

All you see is the injustice of the past but is what you are doing now not an injustice too? 

Based solely on the colour of my skin, and not that of what I am truly capable of.. 

Do you see only in terms of black, white and coloured? 

Not even the shades of red inbetween it all? 

The shades of a life blood that exists in yourself as well as others. 

Do you not feel your heart beat, similar to the way mine does. 

Do you not see we are one and the same, differences in colour cannot hide the life blood we all share. 

Do you not see that the differences we present to each other in culture, religion and appearance are what colour our world so brightly, making it a true beacon of hope in the darkness. 

A hope for a better future, a hope for the right to dream and perhaps have that dream become a reality? 

How many have you disillusioned? And how many have gained the right solely because of wealth and power and colour. 

So yet again I ask, 

Why is it , that you think because you are mighty that I will be weak? 

That I will let myself be weakened by your actions?

Why do you trivialize my importance in this large world, making me even more aware of my “insignificance”? 

Yet also making me aware that I am important and my voice must be heard. 

Is it because I have no knowledge to rival your all encompassing one? 

But I have the heart and spirit to fight for what I believe in and what I want from this world. 

Is it because I stand alone and you are a legion? 

However there will be more that feel the way I do, than there will be of you, regardless of your number. 

Is it because I have no wealth or fame to speak of which makes me less of a person in your condemning eyes? 

I am richly and abundantly blessed with the friends I have as well as the respect they honour me with, something that fame cannot touch, as all it touches is eventually tarnished. 

I am one. 

I am all. 

I am a voice in a million. 

I am the voices of millions. I see nothing. 

I see everything. 

I stand alone and I stand together with those that have gone before me and those that shall come after me. 

I am human, and I have the right to be treated as such.

Leave a Reply

